You Never Know What a Day May Bring Forth!

1 Aug
 
Well, today started off pretty normal (whatever THAT may be Wink) My Mom, Alayna and I went to Alayna’s last horseback riding lesson this morning. After that was over, we came home and had a bite to eat. Alayna and I then got in the car and we headed to church so I could do some more organizing Open-mouthed. Well, while we were sitting at the light at Turkey Hill and Rita’s (North 6th Street in Emmaus), suddenly we were rear-ended by the car in back of us. That impact caused me to rear-end the car in front of me Confused. I tried slamming on the brakes after I hit them, but the brakes were dead, literally! I just coasted to the side street and turned into the curb so I could get my car to stop. Both Alayna and I are freaking out, but I am trying to remain as calm as possible so I don’t freak her out more! My head had jerked forward pretty bad when we were hit, so my neck was hurting. Alayna wasn’t sure if she had hit her head or not. Amazingly, there was a lady right on the corner who was an EMT, so she came immediately over to make sure we were both okay. The guy who hit me from behind came right over too and asked if we were both okay. Needless to say, we attracted quite a crowd Confused. The EMT had a cell phone, so I called Mom right away. She, of course, dropped everything and came right away as soon as she called Dad at work. The police must have been right around the area because the policeman was right there in a matter of minutes, getting statements from the witnesses who saw it happen. The EMT highly suggested that we get checked right away, so they sent for an ambulance. Well, that was a new experience for both Alayna and I!! The Emmaus abulance was right up the street, so they got there pretty fast as well. They put our necks in braces just in case we had a spinal injury Disappointed. We were both then strapped into stretchers and carried into the ambulance. Throughout this whole ordeal, I was so much in a fog that I felt like this was all a bad dream!! The guys in the ambulance were really nice, and they helped us relax (a little!) It wasn’t a big emergency so they just travelled at regular speed to the hospital. When we arrived at the hospital, Dad was right there as we were carried out of the ambulance. What a relief!!!! The doctors and nurses checked both of us out, and besides having a really sore neck, they couldn’t find any other injuries. We both "passed the test" as they called it. So we were soon released to go home. We were given ice packs and Motrin to help with the pain. So, needless to say, I will be hurting for the next couple of days. Right now, Alayna seems fine and she is anxious to be outside and playing with her friends, but we both have to take it easy. Once we got home, both Mom and I were on the phone with insurance companies for most of the afternoon Tongue out. I had to answer a bunch of questions while being recorded….yikes! Right now there is a problem. The police officer told my mom that the witnesses said that I had hit the person in front of me and THEN the person in back of me hit me. However, I KNOW THAT ISN’T THE TRUTH!!! Both Alayna and I are POSITIVE that we were hit from behind first and then that caused us to hit the car in front of us. So, hopefully, this all gets cleared up and doesn’t cause a big problemConfused. My Dad had AAA come and tow the car away. I am hoping I can go see it so I can take pictures, but my Dad says that both the front and back ends are pretty "smooshed." So, I am pretty sure that this is the end of my car Crying. It is a pretty old car, but it has been a faithful friend (for the most part….there was that other time…..) Anyway, I think I will soon be on the market for a new vehicle. That is, if I am ever brave enough to drive again after this experience! Embarrassed 
 
Well, I better go and put some ice on my neck again Confused! This is NOT the way I imagined my day turning out. Yet, as I said in the title….You never know what a day may bring forth! Thank You, Lord, for protecting Alayna and me today!  
 

2 Responses to “You Never Know What a Day May Bring Forth!”

  1. Anne August 1, 2007 at 8:47 am #

    Oooh! That wasn\’t very nice of that car to hit you… but I\’m sure the Lord has the "right" car waiting for you! 

  2. Debbie August 2, 2007 at 7:29 am #

    Glad you are both ok!  What an experience…have had some of those in the past.  Praise God for His protection! 

Leave a comment