Frustrating News & Exciting News

24 Aug
 
This morning I received information that made me want to scream Baring teeth. When I had my car accident a couple of weeks ago, I heard that the witnesses had told the police that they had seen me hit the car in front of me FIRST, stop, and then get hit in the rear AFTERWARDS. At the time, I was too much in a daze to care, but I figured it would all get straightened out. Well, for the past couple of weeks my mom has been back and forth on the phone with the insurance companies and with the claims adjuster. The adjuster went to inspect the car, and he came away with $5,000 worth of damage….he said that the car is only worth $1900, so they totaled the car. So, anyway, back to this morning’s call. The guy’s insurance (the one who hit me) called to inform us that because the witnesses and the police report said that I had hit the car in front of me FIRST they were only going to pay for the back of the car’s damages. Apparently, the woman who was in front of me also claims that she felt a "small bump" after the initial bump (hahahahahaha) and of course, the police report was taken from the witnesses’ point of view. We won’t be getting even half of what the car is "worth" but at least we will still get something out if it – which is better than nothing – but I am just fuming right about now because I know what the TRUTH is. I was sitting at a stoplight, I got hit in the back, I tried slamming on my brakes, but the impact caused me to hit the car in front of me before I could do anything else. I couldn’t stop the car because the brakes weren’t working, so I coasted to the side street and turned into the curb – end of story!! It is just soooooo FRUSTRATING when you know you’re right, but no one else believes you. When my mom was on the phone with the adjuster explaining that we would only be paid for the back damages, I was practically yelling….THAT’S NOT FAIR…I DIDN’T HIT THE CAR FIRST!! Andy had to "hold me back" or I might have done something drastic Wink. Oh, well, life isn’t fair….I guess I just got to get over it Crying.
 
So does anyone know of a great car for sale that I could buy? Anyone have any suggestions on what kind of car I should be looking for? I don’t want to go with anything remotely looking like a Buick…I have had an "old people’s car" for long enough now Open-mouthed
 
On to some exciting news….the exciting news in my life right now is SCHOOL IS STARTING NEXT WEEK!!! Tomorrow I have kindergarten orientation with my students and their parents. It should be lots of fun Smile I will be sure to post pictures soon….my room has changed a bit since I last posted pictures!!
 

Leave a comment